Menu Close

What are new apprenticeship standards?

What are new apprenticeship standards?

The new standards were introduced as part of the Government’s major apprenticeship reforms. The standards represent a shift from assessing to learning and put employers in control. The new standards are written by employer-led groups and include the specific KSBs needed for a specific occupation.

What is the difference between apprenticeship standards and frameworks?

Frameworks were designed by a group of organisations relevant to the apprenticeship. The new standards are designed by groups of employers to ensure the KSBs included in the course are relevant to a specific occupation. Employers can design their own standards, and deliver the training in house.

What are apprenticeship levels equivalent to?

Apprenticeship levels Intermediate – equivalent to five good GCSE passes. Advanced – equivalent to two A-level passes. Higher – equivalent to the first stages of higher education, such as a foundation degree. Degree – comparable to a Bachelors or Masters degree.

How many apprentices should I have?

There is no limit to the number of apprentices a company can take on, but they must ensure programmes meet the requirements set out by the relevant authorities. If taking on more apprentices impedes an organisation’s ability to meet requirements, no more should be employed.

What is the minimum age required to complete an apprenticeship?

Can you start an apprenticeship at any age? The minimum age requirement for apprenticeships is 16, and all applicants must no longer be in full-time education. However, there typically isn’t an age limit on applicants, with anyone over the age of 16 able to apply.

Is a Level 5 apprenticeship a degree?

Level 5 apprenticeships are also classified as higher apprenticeships, but are the equivalent of the full degree. The requirements for a level 5 apprenticeship will be similar to that of a level 4.

What do apprenticeship standards mean for an apprentice?

An apprenticeship standard is a template for the way a specific apprenticeship is delivered. In the simplest terms, it outlines: What an apprentice will do during their apprenticeship. The skills they will need to perform the job role they’re training for.

Are there more apprenticeships than there are frameworks?

We can say that there will be many more standards than there were frameworks under the old system, which numbered around 250. Partly, this is because there will be a standard for each job role – but entirely new apprenticeships are being developed as well.

What do you have to do at the end of an apprenticeship?

All apprentices must take an independent assessment at the end of their training to demonstrate the KSBs set out in the occupational standard. Most apprenticeship standards don’t include mandatory qualifications, so employers and training providers can deliver teaching and learning in any way they wish.

What does division of apprenticeship standards ( das ) Do?

The California Division of Apprenticeship Standards (DAS) consults with employers to develop a skilled workforce with viable career pathways to increase productivity and strengthen our economy.